West Dean College is part of The Edward James Foundation, a charitable trust also comprising West Dean Gardens, West Dean Estate and the West Dean Tapestry. Image: © Ian Capper.

Enjoy unlimited access: just £1 for 12 weeks

Subscribe now

Each was chosen for his or her support of the college and high profile in their respective fields.

Ades was awarded the OBE in 2002 for her services to art history and has been instrumental in staging major exhibitions during her career. In 2004 she organised the centenary Salvador Dali show in Venice and Philadelphia.

A teacher, researcher and consultant in the field of cultural heritage risk, Ashley-Smith studied chemistry and was the head of conservation at the Victoria and Albert Museum from 1977-2002.  He recently worked on the damage and risk assessment module of the EC research project Climate for Culture.

Salter is a British abstract artist who has worked with ceramics, paint and printmaking. She is currently keeper of the school at the RA, one of the institution’s four governing officers.

The fellowships were presented alongside awards for graduating students. The list of 26 awards and their recipients is below.

Antiquarian Horological Society (AHS): Southern Section Prize: John Chapman

British Antique Dealers’ Association (BADA) – Geoffrey Moss Prize: Amy Walsh (Ceramics); John Chapman (Clocks); Shane Wiechnik (Furniture); Andrew Braund (Metals)

British Antique Dealers’ Association (BADA) – Harold Davies Prize: Andriani Maimaridou (Ceramics); Peter Toot (Clocks); Ian Cook (Furniture); Camila Paglione (Metalwork)

Historic England/John Ashurst Prize: Sarah Neville

ICON Ceramics & Glass Group – Denise Lyall Prize: Holly Daws

Nick Johnson Prize: Emma Lau

Rupert James Award: John Collett

Sidney Sanders Trust Prize: John Chapman

Sussex Conservation Consortium Prize: Garrett Sumner

The Arts Society Chichester Research Prize: Agata Bogacka (Visual Arts)

The Arts Society East Grinstead: Mark Hendriks (Musical Instruments)

The Arts Society Rudgwick: Andriani Maimaridou (Ceramics)

The Horology Prize: Dale Sardeson

Trustee’s Prize for Conservation: Derrin Compton (CE) & Dale Sardeson (CL) Funded by David Benson, former Chairman of Trustees, The Edward James Foundation

Trustee’s Prize for Craft Practice: Phoebe Connolly (DACC) Funded by Board of Trustees, The Edward James Foundation

Trustee’s Prize for Creative Arts: Jane Freimiller (MACW) Funded by Lady Egremont, Trustee, The Edward James Foundation

Valerie Power Prize: Emma Straw

Vice Chancellor’s Prize: Eliott Colinge (Clocks)

Willard Conservation Prize: Holly Daws (Ceramics) and Laura Critchlow (CCCM)