Enjoy unlimited access: just £1 for 12 weeks

Subscribe now

The 1996 book that gave the ‘Song of Ice and Fire’ series its now familiar name of A Game of Thrones was signed to the title by both author and illustrator of the jackets, Jim Burns, as were A Clash of Kings of 1998 and A Storm of Swords of 2000. A Feast for Crows of 2005, the fourth book in the series, bore Martin’s signature only.