ALAN Shelley has decided that he can no longer continue as Antiquarian Booksellers Association president owing to illness.

Having been elected to the General Committee in 1990, he held a number of positions before being elected president at the 2007 AGM.

Julian Rota (of Bertram Rota Ltd) has taken over as president until the spring, with Laurence Worms (of Ash Rare Books) as vice president.